RSS Feed

Life & Fashion Bite: The Cosmopolitan Lingerie Show!

On Monday night, me and a couple of girlfriends headed across London (in the cold!) to the Cosmopolitan Lingerie Show! The venue, One Marylebone, is actually a church, and was floodlit with vivid pink lighting and looking rather impressive! Heading upstairs, there were plenty of stalls to peruse, a hair styling station and a nail bar, as well as free fizz (I don’t think we can call it champagne…!) and delicious macaroons at the Ann Summers’ stand by the door!

IMG_0191There were freebies galore and I won some brilliant scarlet ruffle knickers in a lucky dip! Unfortunately, they’re too big for me, but I might just have to let that go and wear them anyway…although I’m not sure it’s a very sophisticated look…maybe it I have a cancan party to go to! We’ll see!

IMG_0402The fashion show took place downstars and there were vivid pink cocktails (Trying to pretend to be Cosmopolitans I think….) and plenty of delicious canapee’s! A couple of rather tasty waiters bringing them around as well…

IMG_0197The first half of the show began with a speech from the founder of the ‘Coppa Feel’ charity – This charity is admirably striving to promote breast cancer awareness and really trying to spread the message to girls, women and even men that checking your breasts thoroughly and regularly is really vital in catching Breast Cancer early. The disease affects thousands and can be cured if caught early, but sadly, it so often is missed and is only treatable – as the founder of the Charity demonstrates – she was diagnosed in her early 20s but it was caught too late and she lives with it today. I have a great deal of admiration for both her and the charity, and think it’s a really inspiring message…I’ve been touched in my life by cancer of several forms, Breast Cancer being one of them, and I know the vital importance of checking yourself often…Not that I have much to check!!

I absolutely adore lingerie, and I’m a big fan of matching sets! I always buy the matching bottoms for my bras, normally in a couple of styles and pairs so I can wear the bra more than once between washes (dry clean only does not get washed after every use! I am not made of money!) So I pretty much fell in love with almost every set that was paraded through the audience…take a look:

Lingerie 1Lingerie 4I love the florals that are showing in the spring lines, especially these three, I want them all!!

Lingerie 2These reds are gorgeous, and I’m madly in love with the set on the right from Gossard, but they don’t have my size..!!

Lingerie 3All of the lines were showing a lot of this turquoise/teal green for their spring collections, and I think it’s a stunning colour…but guess what? Not in my size!!!

Lingerie 5It was great to see some ‘plus size’ models…I don’t really like the term to be honest, and these ladies looked fabulous…aside from anything else, they get to wear the lovely lingerie and I can’t because I’m TOO SMALL!!

After the first half of the show, we had a browse back upstairs and had our nails done! Can’t pass up a quick manicure opportunity! I visited Rigby and Peller, who I have always loved, but can’t often afford, and they have some simply stunning nightwear (lingerie as well, obviously) in their current lines…beautiful silk robes and chemises and little lacy nighties and slips. I wanted to climb inside their racks (no pun intended…!) and spend the night!

IMG_0399
Picked up our gift bags as well, and boy are they great! They really delivered here…hair products, make up, a couple of pieces of lingerie and a lovely nightie from Freya (Which is too big, but I’ll survive!) as well as a few little snacks; Popchips (my absolute favourite savoury snack at the moment!) and some divine little hazelnut pralines from Cadbury’s…mmmm!

IMG_0403

Second half of the show was ‘after-dark’ themed I guess…we got a lot sexier and some more to-die-for sets on show….:

Lingerie 6I’d happily have all of these please…

Lingerie 7I can’t be entirely sure whether they’re advocating a sort of lingerie-party-wear look for evening dress, of whether its artistic styling….I hope it’s the latter! As much as I could ALMOST wear the middle ‘outfit’ out, it’s a bit see through when you look closer!!

Lingerie 10

Lingerie 9I won’t lie to you, I was a bit more interested in the Trench-coat that the lingerie beneath, but I think the sequinned set on the left is a great little ‘festive’ look!

Lingerie 11

Lingerie 8Cute little pieces but all I could think was “Why is the model in red wearing an eye-mask…like you’d actually SLEEP in that underwear?!!” I’m not a fan of Ann Summers, and lots of ruffles and too much ‘kitch’ but they’re quite cute and if they’re your taste, head over to Ann Summers!

A really fun night, and some great looks in the lingerie department for the Christmas and Spring lines coming up. Definitely check out the new Freya, Rigby & Peller and Gossard lines, they are to die for! And Curvy kate is great for the curvier ladies out there…absolutely no use to me but…D-K Cups rejoice!

And, as a special treat for you all, I picked up a couple of Discount Vouchers and I’m going to share the codes with you all!

Get 20% Off Full-Priced Lingerie at Gossard until 14th November: Enter ‘COSMO20’ at the checkout!
Get 10% Off Figleaves’ Erotique Collection until 11th November: Enter ‘EROTIC10’ to claim!

So although there seems to be some ‘prejudice’ against people with little boobs and small backs (Okay, full disclosure, I’m a 28A…) I just adore lingerie. There’s nothing like wearing a stunning matching set to make you feel really good about yourself. Even though no one sees it (unless they’re lucky!), it’s really great to feel sexy underneath all day long!

2 responses »

  1. so many amazing underwear sets! You can never have too many. Such a sad moment when you find the perfect underwear and realise they don’t have it in your size!

    saida xx

    Reply
    • My closet and chest-of-drawers doesn’t have enough space to allow me a whole drawer just for lingerie! I really need one though…
      I was kind of in a daze (a vivid pink daze!) the whole evening longing for all the gorgeous sets!
      The size thing really ticks me off though! I feel like I’m being discriminated against for being little! I have so much trouble finding really nice brands and sets that come in my size! I empathise with the ’embrace curvier bodies’ message, but I don’t think it should be at the expense of people who don’t have much!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

