RSS Feed

Life Bite: Get Organised!!

With so much going on in my life at the moment, and so many different things that need to be done, I have to make sure I’m organised. I need to stay on top of things, and keep track of what I’m doing, what needs to be done…if I’m not careful the small errands get away from me or I don’t factor in the time I need to get bigger tasks done! It also means I can be sure to keep up a social life and get out and about the eevnts and parties etc. that I want to go to, as I can plan ahead and make sure I get everything done around having a life!

These tips and tricks are mainly useful for Students, as that’s a huge part of my life at the moment, but there’s still something in here for everyone…for me, being organised is the key to living a full life!!

IMG_0179The three things in life I wouldn’t get anywhere without…and the iPhone that this pic was taken with!

I have everything on this laptop. All the reading lists, schedules, timetables, deadlines, course breakdowns, essays, articles…everything for my uni courses is on here and it’s my first port of call when I need to get some work done! And I can’t stand a messy desktop or filing system…everything is filed away into conventient folders withing folders withing folders…But it means I can find exactly what I’m looking for when I want it. The same goes for off the laptop too though!

The iPad is more of a gadget and a toy, but I read everything on it. All of my books, both for leisure and any for my courses that come in ebook version or are electronic resources are on here and because it’s so light and compact, I always have it in my bag, so I can get some valuable reading done (whether for work or pleasure) wherever I am! I also have all my emails coming to the iPad as well as the laptop and iphone, so I never miss a trick! It’s also great to be able to type and do any little bits and pieces (ordering groceries, writing memo’s, emails, essay drafts, blog posts…) on the move without fiddling around on the iPhone.

And the book. I do not know how I would survive without the book. It’s my diary and it’s my to-so list and it has everything I ever need to know about what’s happening, when, where…

Diary

If I could only give one piece of organisational advice, it would be this: Keep a diary and make to-do lists! I record all events and committments and appointments and lectures etc in the diary dection, but at the back I have individual day pages and I have lists of everything that needs to be done. I can keep track of what reading I need to do for what lectures (Friday I read for Monday’s lecture, Saturday for Thursday’s, Sunday for my Dissertation, Wednesday and Monday for my French Course etc.) but I can also move things around to suit what else I need to get done. If I can’t finish something one day, it goes straight on the next day’s pag and that way I keep on track of it all. I lvoe a good list, but it’s honestly my number one tip for staying on top of everything that needs to be done…even if it’s just making sure the recycling goes out for collection, or remembering to ring the landlord (again!)…today I defrosted the freezer!

IMG_0188

We also have a flat calendar so everyone knows who’s doing what, when and who will be in/out/available or of use at any given time without running around trying to communicate! We’re all dashing around and work very different schedules, so we often don’t see each other for days at a time, but we can leave notes for each other and sort things out much easier when we know what everyone’s doing. I can set up a meeting with the landlord when i know everyone will be in, without having to ring them individually and then call him back! He’s tricky, so you never want to leave it open-ended!

IMG_0181

For students; Files, folders, colour coordinate. Whatver works, but keep everything organised and together and in the right place! It makes it a thousand times easier to keep on top of work and get things done when you know where your notes for that particular lecture will be, or need to find a book while you’re dashing out because you’re late!!

IMG_0182

I love storage and organisation, as I’m sure you’ve gathered. But you can get pretty cheap units like these and keep everything where it should be! I have several of these little towers in my room, and I have a drawer for facial products, body products, hair products, nails, make-up, and many more…and then there’s the miscelaneous drawer! But keeping things where they should be just saves that extra time when you haven’t got much to spare.

And finally, it’s just about making time! I like to take care of myself as much as I have plenty to do. So I plan it in. I don’t sit and write down daily schedules (I’m not THAT crazy and neurotic!!) but I do map out the day in my head a little. I wake up at 6, because that’s when I’m up. It happens and it’s actually convenient, but I always make sure to plan the night before.

For example: If I have to be at work at 9, I need to leave at 8:10, so I need to be pretty much ready to go at 8, which means I need to eat breakfast at 7:30, which means I need to be ready at 7:15 which means I need to be IN the shower at 6:15, which means I need to get up at 6…see what I mean? I always over estimate, because I hate to be late and stressed out, but that’s the general idea! It means I allow time for my beauty routine, time to get the make-up on and time to sit down and eat breakfast and be well set for the day! I also plan and lay out my outfit for the day the night before to make myself all the more efficient the next day!

So really, as it turns out, my organisation tip is this: BE ORGANISED! Note things down, keep everything in one place and where it should be, make lists, make plans…and when you’ve done all that, go out and have fun! (As long as it’s in the plan…!!) I’m not saying be neurotic and if things go off schedule, it’s not the end of the world, but this way, you’re more likely to keep on top of things and make the time to relax and live your life!

Leave a Reply

