RSS Feed

Beauty Bite: Origins Modern Friction – The Debate!

Origins Modern Friction Exfoliator.

I am in two minds. One the one hand, I really like the product. On the other, I’m not sure how effective it really is.

IMG_0416

The debate:

Argument one – The product is applied onto dry skin and is bursting with natural goodness and I really like how gentle it is on the skin, but I can still feel it working away at all the dry skin on my face. The smell is to die for and a little seems to go a very long way. Using rice starch as the exfoliant it has none of those nasty chemicals that I don’t like and utilises ‘natural technology’ to get results. For the most part, it works great on my face. Skin is smoothes and refreshed and the dry skin and all gone. Furthermore, it’s great when you have sensitive areas – it doesn’t irritate any spots or blemishes and actually evens out the skin tone and texture wonderfully. I’ve been using it three times a week and for the most part, it’s an excellent product.

 IMG_0428

The Opposition – I have really bad black-heads on my nose. Only my nose, the rest of may face is remarkably clear. it’s just the nose and they’re really quite bad. I have never found a product that successfully clears them. Although Modern Friction does wonders for the rest of my skin, it doesn’t appear to have made much of an impact at all upon these blackheads, which is dissappointing, but not surprising to me.

As far as I am aware, blackheads aren’t pores clogged with dirt – it is actually the result of larger, open pores where the oil within the pores is exposed to the air and ‘oxidises’ turning black as a result of having contact with the air. You can be as clean and cleansed as you like, but the oil in the pores will always turn black when it meets the air. So they have to be ‘evacuated’ regularly. By most accounts, blackheads must be regularly cleaned out and exfoliation will help keep them clear.

IMG_0427

So, with this in mind I am persuaded to be generous to Origins and suggest that maybe I need to have a good facial and get those pores de-congested properly before I pass judgement on the blackhead preventing qualities of Modern Friction.

That said, I would still hope for a little more action on the blackhead front! it is an exfoliator afterall!

So judgement time. When all has been said and taken into account, I think that overall (for me anyway, this is after all only my opinion!) Origins Modern Friction is a pretty great product. It is gentle but effective (mostly!!) on the skin, doesn’t irritate or inflame, and clears out (most) pores and dry sken, leaving the face smooth, radiant and soft as a baby’s bottom!! And really, isn’t that the dream?!

IMG_0417

Origins Modern Friction uses natural products and utilises the organic exfoliating properties of rice-starch to gently remove sluggish cells, uneven patches and dry, damaged skin. Lemon Oil kick starts the process of illumination and Vitamin C mops up skin-menacing free radicals! Leaving the skin renewed, smooth and radient.

Origins Modern Friction used three times a week is a great addition to the beauty regime. A salon facial once a month or every 6 weeks will leave you with a clean slate and Modern Friction will be the perfect accompaniment to keep the skin clear and congestion free in the mean time!

Leave a Reply

